President reappoints Cdes Chiwenga, Mohadi VPs

The Sunday Mail

Wallace Ruzvidzo
Sunday Mail Correspondent

PRESIDENT Mnangagwa, who was unanimously re-elected as First Secretary of ZANU PF on Friday on the get together’s seventh National People’s Congress, yesterday reappointed Cdes Constantino Chiwenga and Kembo Mohadi as Second Secretaries of the ruling get together.

Cde Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri was additionally reappointed National Chairperson, finishing the get together’s four-member Presidium.

The President reappointed 4 different Politburo members — Cdes Obert Mpofu (Secretary for Administration), Patrick Chinamasa (Secretary for Finance), Mike Bimha (National Political Commissar) and Lovemore Matuke (Secretary for Security).

He, nevertheless, revealed that additional appointments will probably be made as soon as the present restructuring technique of the Politburo has been accomplished.

“I proceed to appoint a small group within the Politburo as a result of we’re busy restructuring the departments within the Politburo, however for functions of labor to be achieved, I’ll announce a couple of members of the Politburo. The others I’ll announce after we end restructuring the Politburo,” he instructed Congress delegates.

Turning to the ruling get together’s wings, President Mnangagwa re-appointed Cde Mabel Chinomona as Secretary of the Women’s League, whereas Cde Douglas Mahiya was appointed Secretary of the lately established War Veterans’ League.

Consultations to nominate Secretary for the Youth League are nonetheless ongoing.

“For now, I’m solely appointing the top of the Women’s League and head of the War Veterans’ League. The head of the Youth League will probably be introduced later; we’re nonetheless consulting …

“Cde Chinomona comes again as the top of the Women’s League and Cde Mahiya is the top of the War Veterans’ League,” mentioned President Mnangagwa.

In line with the get together’s structure, ZANU PF’s First Secretary additionally appointed 10 new Central Committee members that included former ZANU Ndonga chief Cde Wilson Khumbula.

The 9 different appointees are Ambassador Zenzo Simbi (Bulawayo), Cde Michael Madanha (Mashonaland East), Cde Joseph Chirongoma (Mashonaland West), Cde Veronica Munkuli (Matabeleland North), Cde Miriam Chikukwa (Harare), Cde Paul Mangwana (Masvingo), Abednico Ncube (Matabeleland South), Cde Emmanuel Fundira (Midlands) and Cde Angeline Tongogara (Mashonaland Central).

In an interview following his appointment, Cde Khumbula mentioned President Mnangagwa is an inclusive chief.

“I wish to thank President Mnangagwa for my appointment,” he mentioned.

“It shouldn’t be his knowledge or knowledge from finding out books, however from God. He is fixing numerous issues on this nation and that may solely come from God. We ought to now assist his good works for the nation to maneuver ahead.”

The newly constituted Central Committee is made up of youthful cadres and tried-and-tested get together stalwarts.

Cde Muchinguri mentioned President Mnangagwa’s appointments had been achieved in response to the get together’s Constitution.

“According to Article 8 Subsection 39, there shall be a Politburo and it additional states that the President and First Secretary at his discretion shall appoint members to the Politburo from the CC (Central Committee) members who can have been elected,” she mentioned.

“We witnessed the appointment of the few Politburo members and that course of will proceed.”

She additionally mentioned President Mnangagwa’s endorsement by the Congress was affirmation of affirmations by the get together’s varied organs.

“The most essential enterprise of this convention was to elect the President and the First Secretary of ZANU PF; in different phrases, confirming the elections that passed off within the provinces. It wasn’t simply the provinces, even the organs, associations and associates additionally elected His Excellency,” she mentioned.

President Mnangagwa was additionally nominated because the get together’s sole candidate for the 2023 Harmonised Elections.

The Congress, which ended yesterday, ran beneath the theme “Building a Prosperous Zimbabwe, Leaving No One and No Place Behind.”

Related Posts