How 6 ex-PH VPs also became fortunate to sit at Malacañang Palace

MANILA – Did you understand that of the 13 former Filipino vice presidents from 1935 to 2016, six had been extra fortunate sufficient to also assume the highest elective seat at Malacañang both by means of constitutional succession or direct vote by the folks?

Yes, they have been: Philippine Commonwealth Vice President Sergio S. Osmena Sr. (Nov. 15, 1935-Aug. 1, 1944); Elpidio R. Quirino (May 28, 1846-April 17, 1948); Carlos P. Garcia (Dec. 30, 1953-March 17, 1957); Diosdado P. Macapagal (Dec. 30, 1957-Dec. 30, 1961); Joseph E. Estrada (June 30, 1992-June 30, 1998); and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (June 30, 1998-Jan. 20, 2001).

According to the guide “Philippine History and Government” (fifth version of August 2002) by the father-and- daughter crew Dr. Gregorio F. Zaide and Dr. Sonia M. Zaide, Philippine Commonwealth President Manuel L. Quezon and Vice President Osmena have been elected within the presidential polls held on Sept. 17, 1935, the primary beneath the 1935 Constitution.

Osmena assumed the presidency after the demise of Quezon on Aug. 1, 1944 whereas the Commonwealth Government chief was nonetheless in exile within the United States. Osmena ran for the presidency within the April 23, 1946 polls however misplaced to President Manuel A. Roxas.

Quirino was elevated to the presidency after Roxas died of a coronary heart assault whereas delivering a speech at the previous Clark Air Force Base in Pampanga on April 15, 1948. He became the second former vice chairman to keep at Malacañang to end the remaining time period of Roxas.

After finishing Roxas’ four-year time period, Quirino ran within the 1949 elections and received in his personal proper as president till Dec. 30, 1953. His vice chairman was Fernando H. Lopez of Iloilo.

In the 1953 nationwide polls, former Defense Secretary Ramon F. Magsaysay defeated the reelectionist Quirino. Magsaysay’s vice chairman was Carlos P. Garcia of Bohol.

On March 17, 1957, Magsaysay died when the presidential aircraft Mt. Pinatubo crashed on a mountain in Cebu whereas on a return flight to Manila. Garcia thus became the third vice chairman to occupy Malacañang by constitutional succession after Osmena and Quirino.

Garcia completed the time period of Magsaysay and ran for a similar publish and received within the 1957 elections, with Macapagal as vice chairman. They have been each in workplace from Dec. 30, 1957 to Dec. 30, 1961.

Garcia misplaced to Macapagal within the 1961 nationwide polls. The latter’s vice chairman then was Emmanuel N. Pelaez.

In the succeeding normal elections of 1965, Macapagal misplaced his reelection bid to former Senate President Ferdinand E. Marcos, whose vice chairman was Fernando H. Lopez. Marcos became the primary president to be reelected within the November 1969 polls, once more with Lopez as vice chairman.

In the election in May 1998, the nation’s ninth vice chairman, Joseph E. Estrada (1992-1998), received as president, succeeding President Fidel V. Ramos.

Estrada was the fifth former vice chairman to sit at Malacañang. For being the seating chief govt at the top of the earlier millennium in 2000, he may very effectively be thought-about because the nation’s first millennial president.

However, on Jan. 20, 2001, he was changed by the nation’s first girl vice chairman, Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, daughter of former President Macapagal, on account of the so-called “People Power II” comparable to the occasion that ousted the 20-year Marcos administration from Malacañang in February 1986.

Aside from being the sixth vice chairman to sit at the Palace, President Macapagal-Arroyo also became the second girl chief govt of the Philippines after President Corazon C. Aquino (1986-1992).

In the approaching May 9, 2022 polls, outgoing Vice President Leonor G. Robredo is operating for president. However, she has to prevail over 9 different aspirants for a similar publish to give you the chance to declare the title for the Malacanang seat.

The different presidential candidates are former Senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., Manila Mayor Isko Moreno, Senator Panfilo Lacson, Senator Manny Pacquiao, former Defense Secretary Norberto Gonzales, former presidential spokesman Ernesto Abella, Leody de Guzman of the Bukluran ng (*6*) Pilipino, Faisal Mangondato of the Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi, and Jose Montemayor of Democratic Party of the Philippines. (PNA)

Related Posts