VPs of two panchayats elected unopposed | Trichy News

Trichy: The vice-presidents to two village panchayats have been elected unopposed within the oblique elections held in Trichy on Friday. Thenur village panchayat ward member S Jeyalakshmi in Marungapuri union and Thumbalam village panchayat ward member K Chithra in Thathaingarpettai have been elected unopposed.
The election division had notified 24 posts together with 19 village panchayat ward members, two village panchayat presidents and three panchayat union councillors because the posts had fell vacant because of the loss of life of a number of elected representatives and resignation of just a few.
The posts have been vacant in Andhanallur, Manikandam, Thiruverumbur, Manapparai, Marungapuri, Lalgudi, Mannachanallur, Musiri, Thathaingarpettai, Thottiyam, Thuraiyur and Uppiliyapuram.
Ten village panchayat ward members have been elected unopposed after withdrawal of opponent candidates within the areas. In some of the locations, just one candidate filed nominations. The elections to the posts have been held on October 9, 2021. tnn


Related Posts