Nine host cities announced for 2023 Women’s World Cup |

SYDNEY (AP) — The 2023 Women’s World Cup can be unfold throughout 9 cities in Australia and New Zealand.

The opening match will happen at Eden Park in Auckland, with Sydney’s Stadium Australia internet hosting the ultimate. The two semifinal matches can be cut up between Australia and New Zealand.

That format is much like different World Cup tournaments in different sports activities, together with most not too long ago in 2015 when Australia and New Zealand shared internet hosting of the cricket World Cup.

It would be the first-of-a-kind World Cup, co-hosted by members of various confederations. Australia joined the Asian confederation after qualifying for the 2006 males’s World Cup, leaving New Zealand as the most important member of the Oceania confederation.

This World Cup may also be the primary to characteristic 32 groups, up from the 24 that participated within the 2019 ladies’s match in France. The U.S. ladies’s nationwide crew is the defending champion.

The schedule for the occasion can be announced later this yr, FIFA mentioned in saying the host cities Wednesday in Zurich. The choice follows an eighth-month course of with the member federations from every nation.

“Building on the unbelievable success of France 2019 each on and off the pitch, the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 and 9 host cities throughout Australia and New Zealand won’t solely showcase the world’s best possible gamers, however may also present a strong platform to unite and encourage folks, remodel lives and create a long-lasting legacy for ladies’s soccer in Australia and New Zealand and world wide,” FIFA President Gianni Infantino mentioned in a ready assertion.

The host cities and stadiums are: Adelaide, Hindmarsh Stadium; Auckland, Tamaki Makaurau-Eden Park; Brisbane, Brisbane Stadium; Dunedin, Otepoti-Dunedin Stadium; Hamilton, Kirikiriroa-Waikato Stadium; Melbourne, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium; Perth, Perth Rectangular Stadium; Sydney, Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium; Wellington, Te Whanganui-a-Tara-Wellington Stadium.


More AP soccer: and—Sports

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This materials might not be printed, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed with out permission.

Related Posts